take another step

This weekend was so much fun. Drinks and laughs and the Kings won Game 2 in double overtime….and yet, my heart is heavy. People I care deeply about are battling depression. And it is a battle – for them, it will probably always be a part of their lives. Therefore, it’s part of my life.
Sometimes I don’t have the words to help them. Sometimes I’m so damn scared they’ll leave. I wish they knew there are people out there that understand. People like The Amity Affliction boys;

“I’ve been searching for an exit
But I’m lost inside my head
Where I spend every waking moment
Wishing I was dead
For a few minutes get me away from here
For a few minutes wipe away my tears
For I am lost right now as the ocean deep
I am low my friend and how my heart does sink”

“Pittsburgh” is the first single from their new album “Let The Ocean Take Me”. There’s a special place in my heart for these boys from Queensland. I met a very special person at one of their gigs. A friend of mine that took his own life. I so wish he could have heard more of their music when he was unwell, I truly think it would have helped him. Let’s hope it helps someone else 🙂
Their earlier stuff is a lot heavier, but I think the new sound will speak to more people. I love the use of the choir in this song too.

“I’ll take another step for you…
I’ll take another breath for you…”

I don’t care how selfish it sounds. I want you around. Stay strong.

“Make a choice, shine on…
Fi x

Standard

Leave a comment